Celebrating Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

By Coll Rowe | March 23 2023 | Asian American

In celebration of Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Heritage Month in May, Penguin Random House Education is sharing a collection of titles by authors from the community. This list is comprised of memoirs, fiction, and history, and offers a range of topics from disability and trauma to immigration and family, and beyond. The voices included speak from different cultures and backgrounds about unique experiences to connect and educate.

A Small Sacrifice for an Enormous Happiness
Stories
978-0-525-65894-8
In the fourteen masterful stories that make up this collection, Jai Chakrabarti crosses continents and cultures to explore what it means to cultivate a family today, across borders, religions, and race.
$27.00 US
Feb 21, 2023
Hardcover
272 Pages
Knopf

Minor Feelings
An Asian American Reckoning
978-1-9848-2038-9
Poet and essayist Cathy Park Hong fearlessly and provocatively blends memoir, cultural criticism, and history to expose fresh truths about racialized consciousness in America. Part memoir and part cultural criticism, this collection is vulnerable, humorous, and provocative—and its relentless and riveting pursuit of vital questions around family and friendship, art and politics, identity and individuality, will change the way you think about our world.
$18.00 US
Mar 02, 2021
Paperback
224 Pages
One World

They Called Us Enemy
978-1-60309-450-4
A stunning graphic memoir recounting actor/author/activist George Takei's childhood imprisoned within American concentration camps during World War II. Experience the forces that shaped an American icon -- and America itself -- in this gripping tale of courage, country, loyalty, and love.
$19.99 US
Jul 16, 2019
Paperback
208 Pages
Top Shelf Productions

The Swimmers
A novel (CARNEGIE MEDAL FOR EXCELLENCE WINNER)
978-0-593-46662-9
Winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction
$17.00 US
Jan 24, 2023
Paperback
192 Pages
Vintage

Joan Is Okay
A Novel
978-0-525-56395-2
Selected for common reading at Carnegie Mellon University Tepper School of Business  
$17.00 US
Feb 07, 2023
Paperback
240 Pages
Random House Trade Paperbacks

Family in Six Tones
A Refugee Mother, an American Daughter
978-1-9848-7818-2
A dual first-person memoir by the acclaimed Vietnamese-American novelist and her thoroughly American teenage daughter
$18.00 US
Sep 14, 2021
Paperback
320 Pages
Penguin Books

The Chinese Groove
A Novel
978-1-64009-566-3
Finalist for the California Book AwardsLonglisted for the Dublin Literary PrizeLonglisted for the Joyce Carol Oates PrizeA New York Times Book Review Editors' ChoiceAn Amazon Editors' PickPeople, A Best Book of the YearFor readers of Less and The Wangs Vs. The World, a buoyant, good-hearted, and sharply written novel about a blithely optimistic immigrant with big dreams, dire prospects, and a fractured extended family in need of his help—even if they don't know it yet
$27.00 US
Jan 24, 2023
Hardcover
304 Pages
Counterpoint

When I'm Gone, Look for Me in the East
A Novel
978-0-525-56544-4
From the acclaimed author of We Ride Upon Sticks comes a luminous novel that moves across a windswept Mongolia, as estranged twin brothers make a journey of duty, conflict, and renewed understanding.
$17.00 US
Jan 17, 2023
Paperback
320 Pages
Vintage

What My Bones Know
A Memoir of Healing from Complex Trauma
978-0-593-23812-7
A searing memoir of reckoning and healing by acclaimed journalist Stephanie Foo, investigating the little-understood science behind complex PTSD and how it has shaped her life
$18.00 US
Feb 21, 2023
Paperback
352 Pages
Ballantine Books

Concepcion
Conquest, Colonialism, and an Immigrant Family's Fate
978-0-593-08609-4
A journalist's powerful and incisive account reframes how we comprehend the immigrant experience
$18.00 US
Oct 11, 2022
Paperback
400 Pages
Riverhead Books

Asian American Histories of the United States
978-0-8070-5079-8
An inclusive and landmark history, emphasizing how essential Asian American experiences are to any understanding of US history
$26.95 US
Aug 02, 2022
Hardcover
240 Pages
Beacon Press

Stay True
A Memoir
978-0-385-54777-2
Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Autobiography
$26.00 US
Sep 27, 2022
Hardcover
208 Pages
Doubleday

Brown Girls
A Novel
978-0-593-24344-2
A “boisterous and infectious debut novel” (The Guardian) about a group of friends and their immigrant families from Queens, New York—a tenderly observed, fiercely poetic love letter to a modern generation of brown girls.
$17.00 US
Nov 15, 2022
Paperback
256 Pages
Random House Trade Paperbacks

Mott Street
A Chinese American Family's Story of Exclusion and Homecoming
978-0-525-55737-1
From the winner of the M.F.K. Fisher Book Prize and a New York Public Library Cullman fellow comes a sweeping narrative history of the Chinese Exclusion Act through an intimate portrayal of one family’s epic journey to lay down roots in America
$29.00 US
Apr 25, 2023
Hardcover
400 Pages
Penguin Press

Made in China
A Memoir of Love and Labor
978-1-64622-152-3
A young girl forced to work in a Queens sweatshop calls child services on her mother in this powerful debut memoir about labor and self-worth that traces a Chinese immigrant's journey to an American future.
$16.95 US
Aug 02, 2022
Paperback
224 Pages
Catapult

Beautiful Country
A Memoir of an Undocumented Childhood
978-0-593-31300-8
In Chinese, the word for America, Mei Guo, translates directly to “beautiful country.” Yet when seven-year-old Qian arrives in New York City in 1994 full of curiosity, she is overwhelmed by crushing fear and scarcity. In China, Qian’s parents were professors; in America, her family is “illegal” and it will require all the determination and small joys they can muster to survive.
$18.00 US
Sep 27, 2022
Paperback
320 Pages
Vintage

Facing the Mountain
An Inspiring Story of Japanese American Patriots in World War II
978-0-525-55742-5
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Boys in the Boat, a gripping World War II saga of patriotism and resistance, focusing on four Japanese American men and their families, and the contributions and sacrifices that they made for the sake of the nation.
$19.00 US
May 10, 2022
Paperback
560 Pages
Penguin Books

All You Can Ever Know
A Memoir
978-1-948226-37-0
A NATIONAL BESTSELLERThis beloved memoir "is an extraordinary, honest, nuanced and compassionate look at adoption, race in America and families in general" (Jasmine Guillory, Code Switch, NPR)What does it means to lose your roots—within your culture, within your family—and what happens when you find them?Nicole Chung was born severely premature, placed for adoption by her Korean parents, and raised by a white family in a sheltered Oregon town. From childhood, she heard the story of her adoption as a comforting, prepackaged myth. She believed that her biological parents had made the ultimate sacrifice in the hope of giving her a better life, that forever feeling slightly out of place was her fate as a transracial adoptee. But as Nicole grew up—facing prejudice her adoptive family couldn’t see, finding her identity as an Asian American and as a writer, becoming ever more curious about where she came from—she wondered if the story she’d been told was the whole truth.With warmth, candor, and startling insight, Nicole Chung tells of her search for the people who gave her up, which coincided with the birth of her own child. All You Can Ever Know is a profound, moving chronicle of surprising connections and the repercussions of unearthing painful family secrets—vital reading for anyone who has ever struggled to figure out where they belong.
$16.95 US
Oct 15, 2019
Paperback
256 Pages
Catapult

Year of the Tiger
An Activist's Life
978-0-593-31539-2
From the founder and director of the Disability Visibility Project, and the editor of the acclaimed anthology Disability Visibility, this groundbreaking memoir in essays offers a glimpse into an activist's journey to finding and cultivating community and the continued fight for disability justice.
$17.00 US
Sep 06, 2022
Paperback
400 Pages
Vintage

See No Stranger
A Memoir and Manifesto of Revolutionary Love
978-0-525-50911-0
For educator resources for See No Stranger, including a comprehensive educator’s guide, visit the author's website at valariekaur.com/learninghub/for-educators.
$18.99 US
Sep 07, 2021
Paperback
416 Pages
One World

Be the Refuge
Raising the Voices of Asian American Buddhists
978-1-62317-523-8
A must-read for modern sanghas--Asian American Buddhists in their own words, on their own terms.
$17.95 US
Jan 26, 2021
Paperback
344 Pages
North Atlantic Books

Bridge to the Sun
The Secret Role of the Japanese Americans Who Fought in the Pacific in World War II
978-0-525-65581-7
The is the saga of the Japanese American U.S. Army soldiers who fought in the Pacific theater fighting two wars simultaneously—their ancestral nation and back home in America, with their families, under U.S. Executive Order 9066, facing suspicion and racial hatred, held behind barbed wire in government internment camps.
$35.00 US
Sep 27, 2022
Hardcover
480 Pages
Knopf

The Perfect Sound
A Memoir in Stereo
978-0-307-38635-9
Here is a poet’s audio obsession, from collecting his earliest vinyl to his quest for the ideal vacuum tubes.
$19.00 US
Feb 21, 2023
Paperback
544 Pages
Vintage

The Loneliest Americans
978-0-525-57623-5
A “provocative and sweeping” (Time) blend of family history and original reportage that explores—and reimagines—Asian American identity in a Black and white world
$18.00 US
Oct 11, 2022
Paperback
288 Pages
Crown

I Was Their American Dream
A Graphic Memoir
978-0-525-57511-5
“A portrait of growing up in America, and a portrait of family, that pulls off the feat of being both intimately specific and deeply universal at the same time. I adored this book.”—Jonny Sun, author and illustrator of everyone’s a aliebn when ur a aliebn too and New York Times bestselling illustrator of Gmorning, Gnight! by Lin-Manuel Miranda
$16.99 US
Apr 30, 2019
Paperback
160 Pages
Clarkson Potter