Books for Latinx and Hispanic Heritage Month

By Coll Rowe | August 3 2023 | Latinx and Hispanic

Penguin Random House Education is proud to celebrate Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month, which runs annually from September 15th through October 15th.  We are highlighting the works of our authors and illustrators from the Latinx and Hispanic community, whose stories and characters have a profound impact on our society.

Here is a selection of titles that we encourage you to share with your students this month and beyond:

Vanishing Maps
A novel
978-0-593-53474-8
From the acclaimed author of Dreaming in Cuban, a follow-up novel that tracks four generations of the del Pino family against the tumultuous backdrops of Cuba, the U.S., Germany, and Russia in the new millennium
$28.00 US
Jul 18, 2023
Hardcover
272 Pages
Knopf

Solito
A Memoir
978-0-593-49808-8
A young poet tells the inspiring story of his migration from El Salvador to the United States at the age of nine in this “gripping memoir” (NPR) of bravery, hope, and finding family. 
$18.00 US
Jun 06, 2023
Paperback
416 Pages
Hogarth

Harvest of Empire
A History of Latinos in America: Second Revised and Updated Edition
978-0-14-313743-6
A sweeping history of the Latinx experience in the United States
$22.00 US
Jun 14, 2022
Paperback
560 Pages
Penguin Books

An African American and Latinx History of the United States
978-0-8070-0593-4
An intersectional history of the shared struggle for African American and Latinx civil rights
$17.00 US
Dec 11, 2018
Paperback
296 Pages
Beacon Press

I'm Not Broken
A Memoir
978-0-593-46651-3
In this unflinching and inspiring memoir, Jesse Leon tells an extraordinary story of resilience and survival, shining a light on a childhood spent devastated by sex trafficking, street life, and substance abuse.
$17.00 US
Aug 23, 2022
Paperback
336 Pages
Vintage

Latinx
The New Force in American Politics and Culture
978-1-78478-322-8
How Latinos are changing US culture, society, and politics
$19.95 US
Oct 29, 2019
Paperback
368 Pages
Verso

Crying in the Bathroom
A Memoir
978-0-593-29695-0
From the New York Times bestselling author of I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, an utterly original memoir-in-essays that is as deeply moving as it is hilarious
$18.00 US
Jul 11, 2023
Paperback
256 Pages
Penguin Books

Spoken Word
A Cultural History
978-0-525-65701-9
Here is a fascinating history of the art form that has transformed the cultural landscape, by one of its influential practitioners, an award-winning poet, professor, and slam champion.
$30.00 US
Mar 28, 2023
Hardcover
304 Pages
Knopf

The Undocumented Americans
978-0-399-59270-6
One of the first undocumented immigrants to graduate from Harvard reveals the hidden lives of her fellow undocumented Americans in this deeply personal and groundbreaking portrait of a nation.
$19.00 US
Apr 06, 2021
Paperback
208 Pages
One World

Every Day the River Changes
Four Weeks Down the Magdalena
978-1-64622-045-8
An exhilarating travelogue for a new generation about a journey along Colombia’s Magdalena River, exploring life by the banks of a majestic river now at risk, and how a country recovers from conflict.
Nov 16, 2021
Ebook
224 Pages
Catapult

Latino Americans
The 500-Year Legacy That Shaped a Nation
978-0-451-23814-6
Chronicling the rich and varied history of Latinos in the United States, this companion to the PBS documentary miniseries vividly and candidly tells how the story of Latino Americans is the story of our country.
$18.00 US
Sep 03, 2013
Paperback
272 Pages
Celebra

The Man Who Could Move Clouds
A Memoir
978-0-593-31116-5

Pulitzer Prize Finalist

The Man Who Could Move Clouds is Ingrid Rojas Contreras’s kaleidoscopic memoir reclaiming her family’s otherworldly legacy.

$17.00 US
Jul 11, 2023
Paperback
320 Pages
Anchor

Spirit Run
A 6,000-Mile Marathon Through North America's Stolen Land
978-1-64622-053-3
In this New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice, the son of working-class Mexican immigrants flees a life of labor in fruit-packing plants to run in a Native American marathon from Canada to Guatemala in this “stunning memoir that moves to the rhythm of feet, labor, and the many landscapes of the Americas” (Catriona Menzies-Pike, author of The Long Run).
$16.95 US
Mar 02, 2021
Paperback
240 Pages
Catapult

My Broken Language
A Memoir
978-0-399-59006-1
The Pulitzer Prize–winning playwright and co-writer of In the Heights tells her lyrical story of coming of age against the backdrop of an ailing Philadelphia barrio, with her sprawling Puerto Rican family as a collective muse.
$18.00 US
Jan 11, 2022
Paperback
336 Pages
One World

Forget the Alamo
The Rise and Fall of an American Myth
978-1-9848-8011-6
Three noted Texan writers combine forces to tell the real story of the Alamo, dispelling the myths, exploring why they had their day for so long, and explaining why the ugly fight about its meaning is now coming to a head.
$20.00 US
Jun 07, 2022
Paperback
416 Pages
Penguin Books

The President and the Frog
A novel
978-0-593-31210-0
An incandescent novel—political, mystical, timely, and heartening—about the power of memory, and the pursuit of justice.
$16.00 US
Oct 18, 2022
Paperback
224 Pages
Vintage

A Cup of Water Under My Bed
A Memoir
978-0-8070-6292-0
A coming-of-age memoir by a Colombian-Cuban woman about the lessons she learns--and rebels against--about being poor, queer and Latina from the women in her family.
$18.00 US
Sep 08, 2015
Paperback
200 Pages
Beacon Press

Neruda on the Park
A Novel
978-0-593-35850-4
An exhilarating debut novel following members of a Dominican family in New York City who take radically different paths when faced with encroaching gentrification
$18.00 US
May 02, 2023
Paperback
352 Pages
Ballantine Books

App Kid
How a Child of Immigrants Grabbed a Piece of the American Dream
978-0-525-56623-6
App Kid is an inspiring and deeply personal coming of age memoir from one of Silicon Valley’s youngest entrepreneurs—a second-generation Latino immigrant who taught himself how to code as a thirteen-year-old and went on to claim his share of the American dream.
$17.00 US
Aug 30, 2022
Paperback
304 Pages
Vintage

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer
A Novel
978-1-948226-88-2
A fableistic, “beautifully crafted, poetic” debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (The New York Times Book Review).
$25.00 US
Mar 02, 2021
Hardcover
240 Pages
Catapult

Enrique's Journey
The Story of a Boy's Dangerous Odyssey to Reunite with His Mother
978-0-8129-7178-1
In this astonishing true story, award-winning journalist Sonia Nazario recounts the unforgettable odyssey of a Honduran boy who braves unimaginable hardship and peril to reach his mother in the United States.
$20.00 US
Jan 02, 2007
Paperback
400 Pages
Random House Trade Paperbacks