Books for Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month

By Coll Rowe | August 23 2022 | General

Penguin Random House Education is proud to celebrate Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month, which runs annually from September 15th through October 15th.  We are highlighting the works of our authors from the Latinx and Hispanic community, whose stories and characters have a profound impact on our society.

Here is a selection of titles that we encourage you to share with your students this month and beyond:

Woman Without Shame
Poems
978-0-593-53482-3
It has been twenty-eight years since Sandra Cisneros published a book of poetry. With dozens of never-before-seen poems, Woman Without Shame is a moving collection of songs, elegies, and declarations that chronicle her pilgrimage toward rebirth and the recognition of her prerogative as a woman artist. These bluntly honest and often humorous meditations on memory, desire, and the essential nature of love blaze a path toward self-awareness. For Cisneros, Woman Without Shame is the culmination of her search for home—in the Mexico of her ancestors and in her own heart.
$27.00 US
Sep 13, 2022
Hardcover
176 Pages
Knopf

Solito
A Memoir
978-0-593-49806-4
A young poet tells the inspiring story of his migration from El Salvador to the United States at the age of nine in this “gripping memoir” (NPR) of bravery, hope, and finding family.  
$28.00 US
Sep 06, 2022
Hardcover
400 Pages
Hogarth

Harvest of Empire
A History of Latinos in America: Second Revised and Updated Edition
978-0-14-313743-6
A sweeping history of the Latinx experience in the United States
$22.00 US
Jun 14, 2022
Paperback
560 Pages
Penguin Books

The Che Guevara Reader
Writings on Politics & Revolution
978-1-64421-112-0
Selected writings—speeches, essays, and letters—by one of the most widely known guerilla fighters, political theorists, and organizers, Che Guevara.
$22.95 US
Jun 21, 2022
Paperback
448 Pages
Seven Stories Press

I'm Not Broken
A Memoir
978-0-593-46651-3
In this unflinching and inspiring memoir, Jesse Leon tells an extraordinary story of resilience and survival, shining a light on a childhood spent devastated by sex trafficking, street life, and substance abuse.
$17.00 US
Aug 23, 2022
Paperback
336 Pages
Vintage

The Motorcycle Diaries
Notes on a Latin American Journey
978-1-64421-068-0
A New York Times BestsellerWith a new introduction by "The Motorcyle Diaries" filmmaker Walter Salles, and featuring 24 pages of photos taken by Che.
$17.95 US
Jul 16, 2021
Paperback
192 Pages
Seven Stories Press

The Book of Unknown Americans
978-0-345-80640-6
Finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize for Fiction
$16.00 US
Mar 03, 2015
Paperback
304 Pages
Vintage

Sabrina & Corina
Stories
978-0-525-51130-4
Selected for common reading at:
$17.00 US
Apr 07, 2020
Paperback
240 Pages
One World

Latino Americans
The 500-Year Legacy That Shaped a Nation
978-0-451-23814-6
Chronicling the rich and varied history of Latinos in the United States, this companion to the PBS documentary miniseries vividly and candidly tells how the story of Latino Americans is the story of our country.
$18.00 US
Sep 03, 2013
Paperback
272 Pages
Celebra

Spirit Run
A 6,000-Mile Marathon Through North America's Stolen Land
978-1-64622-053-3
In this New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice, the son of working-class Mexican immigrants flees a life of labor in fruit-packing plants to run in a Native American marathon from Canada to Guatemala in this “stunning memoir that moves to the rhythm of feet, labor, and the many landscapes of the Americas” (Catriona Menzies-Pike, author of The Long Run).
$16.95 US
Mar 02, 2021
Paperback
240 Pages
Catapult

Forget the Alamo
The Rise and Fall of an American Myth
978-1-9848-8011-6
Three noted Texan writers combine forces to tell the real story of the Alamo, dispelling the myths, exploring why they had their day for so long, and explaining why the ugly fight about its meaning is now coming to a head.
$20.00 US
Jun 07, 2022
Paperback
416 Pages
Penguin Books

A Cup of Water Under My Bed
A Memoir
978-0-8070-6292-0
A coming-of-age memoir by a Colombian-Cuban woman about the lessons she learns--and rebels against--about being poor, queer and Latina from the women in her family.
$18.00 US
Sep 08, 2015
Paperback
200 Pages
Beacon Press

My Broken Language
A Memoir
978-0-399-59006-1
The Pulitzer Prize–winning playwright and co-writer of In the Heights tells her lyrical story of coming of age against the backdrop of an ailing Philadelphia barrio, with her sprawling Puerto Rican family as a collective muse.
$19.99 US
Jan 11, 2022
Paperback
336 Pages
One World

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer
A Novel
978-1-948226-88-2
A fableistic, “beautifully crafted, poetic” debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (The New York Times Book Review).
$25.00 US
Mar 02, 2021
Hardcover
240 Pages
Catapult

Mexican Gothic

Dominicana
978-1-64421-070-3
Una extraordinaria novela de iniciación sobre una mujer joven que encuentra su voz en el mundo ahora en una edición en Español. / An extraordinary coming-of-age story of a young woman finding her voice in the world, now in a Spanish language edition. 
$18.95 US
Jun 15, 2021
Paperback
400 Pages
Siete Cuentos