Books for Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month

By Colleen Rowe | August 23 2022 | General

Penguin Random House Education is proud to celebrate Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month, which runs annually from September 15th through October 15th.  We are highlighting the works of our authors from the Latinx and Hispanic community, whose stories and characters have a profound impact on our society.

Here is a selection of titles that we encourage you to share with your students this month and beyond:

Woman Without Shame
Poems
978-0-593-53482-3
It has been twenty-eight years since Sandra Cisneros published a book of poetry. With dozens of never-before-seen poems, Woman Without Shame is a moving collection of songs, elegies, and declarations that chronicle her pilgrimage toward rebirth and the recognition of her prerogative as a woman artist. These bluntly honest and often humorous meditations on memory, desire, and the essential nature of love blaze a path toward self-awareness. For Cisneros, Woman Without Shame is the culmination of her search for home—in the Mexico of her ancestors and in her own heart.
$27.00 US
Sep 13, 2022
Hardcover
176 Pages
Knopf

Solito
A Memoir
978-0-593-49806-4
A young poet tells the unforgettable story of his harrowing migration from El Salvador to the United States at the age of nine in this moving, page-turning memoir hailed as "the mythic journey of our era" (Sandra Cisneros)
$28.00 US
Sep 06, 2022
Hardcover
400 Pages
Hogarth


The Che Guevara Reader
Writings on Politics & Revolution
978-1-64421-112-0
Selected writings—speeches, essays, and letters—by one of the most widely known guerilla fighters, political theorists, and organizers, Che Guevara.
$22.95 US
Jun 21, 2022
Paperback
448 Pages
Seven Stories Press

I'm Not Broken
A Memoir
978-0-593-46651-3
In this unflinching and inspiring memoir, Jesse Leon tells an extraordinary story of resilience and survival, shining a light on a childhood spent devastated by sex trafficking, street life, and substance abuse.
$17.00 US
Aug 23, 2022
Paperback
336 Pages
Vintage


Crying in the Bathroom
A Memoir
978-0-593-29693-6
“Equal parts pee-your-pants hilarity and break your heart poignancy- like the perfect brunch date you never want to end!"--America Ferrera, Emmy award-winning actress in Ugly BettyFrom the New York Times bestselling author of I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, an utterly original memoir-in-essays that is as deeply moving as it is hilarious
$27.00 US
Jul 12, 2022
Hardcover
256 Pages
Viking

The Motorcycle Diaries
Notes on a Latin American Journey
978-1-64421-068-0
A New York Times BestsellerWith a new introduction by "The Motorcyle Diaries" filmmaker Walter Salles, and featuring 24 pages of photos taken by Che.
$17.95 US
Jul 16, 2021
Paperback
192 Pages
Seven Stories Press



Latino Americans
The 500-Year Legacy That Shaped a Nation
978-0-451-23814-6
THE COMPANION BOOK TO THE PBS DOCUMENTARY SERIESLatino Americans chronicles the rich and varied history of Latinos, who have helped shaped our nation and have become, with more than fifty million people, the largest minority in the United States. This companion to the landmark PBS miniseries vividly and candidly tells how the story of Latino Americans is the story of our country.Author and acclaimed journalist Ray Suarez explores the lives of Latino American men and women over a five-hundred-year span, encompassing an epic range of experiences from the early European settlements to Manifest Destiny; the Wild West to the Cold War; the Great Depression to globalization; and the Spanish-American War to the civil rights movement.Latino Americans shares the personal struggles and successes of immigrants, poets, soldiers, and many others—individuals who have made an impact on history, as well as those whose extraordinary lives shed light on the times in which they lived, and the legacy of this incredible American people.
$18.00 US
Sep 03, 2013
Paperback
272 Pages
Celebra

Spirit Run
A 6,000-Mile Marathon Through North America's Stolen Land
978-1-64622-053-3
In this New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice, the son of working-class Mexican immigrants flees a life of labor in fruit-packing plants to run in a Native American marathon from Canada to Guatemala in this "stunning memoir that moves to the rhythm of feet, labor, and the many landscapes of the Americas" (Catriona Menzies-Pike, author of The Long Run).
$16.95 US
Mar 02, 2021
Paperback
240 Pages
Catapult

Why Didn't You Tell Me?
A Memoir
978-0-593-24025-0
An immigrant mother’s long-held secrets upend her daughter’s understanding of her family, her identity, and her place in the world in this powerful and dramatic memoir
$28.00 US
Jul 12, 2022
Hardcover
240 Pages
Crown

Forget the Alamo
The Rise and Fall of an American Myth
978-1-9848-8011-6
Three noted Texan writers combine forces to tell the real story of the Alamo, dispelling the myths, exploring why they had their day for so long, and explaining why the ugly fight about its meaning is now coming to a head.
$19.00 US
Jun 07, 2022
Paperback
416 Pages
Penguin Books

A Cup of Water Under My Bed
A Memoir
978-0-8070-6292-0
A coming-of-age memoir by a Colombian-Cuban woman about the lessons she learns--and rebels against--about being poor, queer and Latina from the women in her family.
$18.00 US
Sep 08, 2015
Paperback
200 Pages
Beacon Press

My Broken Language
A Memoir
978-0-399-59006-1
GOOD MORNING AMERICA BUZZ PICK • The Pulitzer Prize–winning playwright and co-writer of In the Heights tells her lyrical story of coming of age against the backdrop of an ailing Philadelphia barrio, with her sprawling Puerto Rican family as a collective muse. “Quiara Alegria Hudes is in her own league. Her sentences will take your breath away. How lucky we are to haveher telling our stories.”—Lin-Manuel Miranda, award-winning creator of Hamilton and In the Heights
$18.00 US
Jan 11, 2022
Paperback
336 Pages
One World

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer
A Novel
978-1-948226-88-2
Shortlisted for the Reading the West Book Award A fableistic, "beautifully crafted, poetic" debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (The New York Times Book Review).
$25.00 US
Mar 02, 2021
Hardcover
240 Pages
Catapult

Mexican Gothic

Dominicana
978-1-64421-070-3
Una extraordinaria novela de iniciación sobre una mujer joven que encuentra su voz en el mundo ahora en una edición en Español. / An extraordinary coming-of-age story of a young woman finding her voice in the world, now in a Spanish language edition. 
$18.95 US
Jun 15, 2021
Paperback
400 Pages
Siete Cuentos