Kazuo Ishiguro wins 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature

By Tim Cheng | October 6 2017 | Humanities & Social Sciences

The 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded by the Swedish Academy to the English author Kazuo Ishiguro “who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world.”

The author commented: “This is amazing and totally unexpected news. It comes at a time when the world is uncertain about its values, its leadership and its safety. I just hope that my receiving this huge honour will, even in a small way, encourage the forces for goodwill and peace at this time.”

Kazuo Ishiguro’s novels include THE REMAINS OF THE DAY, which won the 1989 Booker Prize, as well as WHEN WE WERE ORPHANS, NEVER LET ME GO, and AN ARTIST OF THE FLOATING WORLD, all three of which had been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize.  His most recent novel is THE BURIED GIANT.

The Remains of the Day
Introduction by Salman Rushdie
An elegant Everyman's Library hardcover edition of the universally acclaimed novel—winner of the Booker Prize, a bestseller and a perpetually strong backlist title, and the basis for an award-winning film—with full-cloth binding, a silk ribbon marker, a chronology, and a new introduction by Salman Rushdie.
$30.00 US
Oct 02, 2012
248 Pages
Everyman's Library

When We Were Orphans
A Novel
Finalist for the Man Booker Prize 
$18.00 US
Oct 30, 2001
352 Pages

Never Let Me Go
Finalist for the Man Booker Prize 
$17.00 US
Mar 14, 2006
304 Pages

An Artist of the Floating World
Winner of the Whitbread Book of the Year Award 
$17.00 US
Sep 19, 1989
208 Pages

The Buried Giant
In post-Arthurian Britain, the wars that once raged between the Saxons and the Britons have finally ceased. Axl and Beatrice, an elderly British couple, set off to visit their son, whom they haven’t seen in years. And, because a strange mist has caused mass amnesia throughout the land, they can scarcely remember anything about him. 
$18.00 US
Jan 05, 2016
336 Pages