NBCC awards to Margaret Atwood and Yaa Gyasi

By Tim Cheng | January 24 2017 | Humanities & Social Sciences

The National Book Critics Circle will present awards to Margaret Atwood and Yaa Gyasi on March 16, 2017 at the New School.

Margaret Atwood is the author of more than forty books, novels, short stories, poetry, literary criticism, social history, and books for children. She will be honored with the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award. Her contribution to letters and book culture includes groundbreaking fiction such as The Handmaid’s Tale as well as Oryx and Crake. Atwood has received numerous literary awards, including the Booker Prize for The Blind Assassin, the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and the Governor General’s Award.

Yaa Gyasi’s debut novel, Homegoing is the recipient of the John Leonard Prize, established to recognize outstanding first books in any genre. Homegoing is a novel of breathtaking sweep and emotional power that traces three hundred years in Ghana and along the way also becomes a truly great American novel.

For more info about these awards, visit: http://bookcritics.org/blog/archive/national-book-critics-circle-announces-finalists-for-2016-awards


The Handmaid's Tale (Movie Tie-in)
The #1 New York Times bestseller and seminal work of speculative fiction from the Booker Prize-winning author, now a Hulu series starring Elizabeth Moss, Samira Wiley, and Joseph Fiennes. Includes a new introduction by Margaret Atwood.
$15.95 US
Apr 18, 2017
336 Pages

Oryx and Crake
Finalist for the Man Booker Prize
$17.00 US
Mar 30, 2004
400 Pages

The Blind Assassin
A Novel
Winner of the Man Booker Prize
$19.00 US
Aug 28, 2001
544 Pages

Winner of the PEN/ Hemingway Award
$18.00 US
May 02, 2017
320 Pages