Robert A. Caro, 2016 National Book Foundation Medalist

By Tim Cheng | December 14 2016 | Humanities & Social Sciences

The National Book Foundation presented Robert A. Caro the Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters at the 2016 National Book Awards. He is the author of THE POWER BROKER and The Years of Lyndon Johnson biographies.

 “Robert A. Caro is an American treasure,” said Lisa Lucas, Executive Director of the National Book Foundation.

The award, which comes with a $10,000 prize, is given annually to an author who has enriched our literary heritage over a lifetime of achievement. Throughout his career, Caro has demonstrated the power of biography to illuminate not just individuals but also the societies they influence and shape.

To see his acceptance speech, please visit:

The Power Broker
Robert Moses and the Fall of New York
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize
$27.00 US
Jul 12, 1975
1344 Pages

The Passage of Power
The Years of Lyndon Johnson, Vol. IV
Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award
$25.00 US
May 07, 2013
768 Pages