Julie Schumacher Wins 2015 Thurber Prize for American Humor

By Tim Cheng | September 29 2015 | Humanities & Social Sciences

Congratulations to Julie Schumacher, who has won the 2015 Thurber Prize for American Humor for her epistolary campus novel Dear Committee Members. Established in 1996, the Thurber Prize for American Humor is the only recognition of the art of humor writing in the United States. The prize is presented by the Thurber House, the nonprofit literary center located in the Columbus boyhood home of humorist James Thurber and supported by the Columbus Arts Council and the Columbus Foundation. Schumacher was honored as the winner of the Thurber Prize on Monday, September 28th at the New York comedy club Carolines on Broadway. Sloane Crosley, one of three judges for the prize, said, “[Dear Committee Members is] jealousy-inducing to read, with more brilliant laughs per square inch than any book I’ve read in at least five years.” Judge David Giffels called the book “a dazzling satire.” Listen to Julie discuss Dear Committee Members here.

Dear Committee Members
Winner of the Thurber Prize for American Humor
$17.00 US
Jun 23, 2015
192 Pages