Coming Out as Dalit

A Memoir of Surviving India's Caste System (Updated Edition)

Look inside
Hardcover
$29.95 US
On sale Feb 06, 2024 | 264 Pages | 978-0-8070-4528-2
“…a moving personal story and a useful educational examination of persistent discrimination”—Kirkus Reviews

For readers of Caste, the coming-of-age story of a Dalit individual that illuminates systemic injustice in India and its growing impact on US society


Winner of the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puruskar, 2020

Born into a "formerly untouchable manual-scavenging family in small-town India," Yashica Dutt was taught from a young age to not appear “Dalit looking.” Although prejudice against Dalits, who compose 25% of the population, has been illegal since 1950, caste-ism in India is alive and well. Blending her personal history with extensive research and reporting, Dutt provides an incriminating analysis of caste’s influence in India over everything from entertainment to judicial systems and how this discrimination has carried over to US institutions.

Dutt traces how colonial British forces exploited and perpetuated a centuries old caste system, how Gandhi could have been more forceful in combatting prejudice, and the role played by Dr. B. R. Ambedkar, whom Isabel Wilkerson called “the MLK of India’s caste issues” in her book Caste. Alongside her analysis, Dutt interweaves personal stories of learning to speak without a regional accent growing up and desperately using medicinal packs to try to lighten her skin.

Published in India in 2019 to acclaim, this expanded edition includes two new chapters covering how the caste system traveled to the US, its history here, and the continuation of bias by South Asian communities in professional sectors. Amid growing conversations about caste discrimination prompting US institutions including Harvard University, Brandeis University, the University of California system, and the NAACP to add caste as a protected category to their policies, Dutt’s work sheds essential light on the significant influence caste-ism has across many aspects of US society.

Raw and affecting, Coming Out as Dalit brings a new audience of readers into a crucial conversation about embracing Dalit identity, offering a way to change the way people think about caste in their own communities and beyond.
Author’s Note to New Edition
Author’s Note


PROLOGUE

CHAPTER 1
The Early Years

CHAPTER 2
The Caste System: How It Began

CHAPTER 3
Education and Financial Strife

CHAPTER 4
Humiliation in Mussoorie

CHAPTER 5
The Reality of Untouchability

CHAPTER 6
The Long Road to St. Stephen’s

CHAPTER 7
The Argument for Reservation

CHAPTER 8
Culture Cache and Onward to Columbia

CHAPTER 9
Dalit Movements and Ambedkar’s Legacy

CHAPTER 10
My Introduction to Ambedkar

CHAPTER 11
Dalit Women’s Movements

CHAPTER 12
The Danger of the Single Narrative

Chapters for Expanded Edition
CHAPTER 13
Silicon Valley, Model Minority, and the Myth of Caste-lessness

CHAPTER 14
The Reckoning of Caste in Tech

Epilogue
Acknowledgments
Notes
Index
Yashica Dutt is a journalist, activist, award-winning writer, and a leading feminist voice on caste. Born "in a formerly untouchable 'lower' caste family," she passed as dominant caste to survive discrimination. Dutt moved to New Delhi at 17 and became one of the most widely-read culture journalists at a leading English language paper. Eventually coming out as Dalit, she introduced this expression which powerfully resonated in India. Her site, Documents of Dalit Discrimination, was among the first highly visible media spaces for caste oppressed people. Dutt's work has been published in the New York Times, Foreign Policy and The Atlantic, and she has been featured on The BBC, The Guardian and PBS Newshour. Yashica Dutt lives in Brooklyn, New York.

About

“…a moving personal story and a useful educational examination of persistent discrimination”—Kirkus Reviews

For readers of Caste, the coming-of-age story of a Dalit individual that illuminates systemic injustice in India and its growing impact on US society


Winner of the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puruskar, 2020

Born into a "formerly untouchable manual-scavenging family in small-town India," Yashica Dutt was taught from a young age to not appear “Dalit looking.” Although prejudice against Dalits, who compose 25% of the population, has been illegal since 1950, caste-ism in India is alive and well. Blending her personal history with extensive research and reporting, Dutt provides an incriminating analysis of caste’s influence in India over everything from entertainment to judicial systems and how this discrimination has carried over to US institutions.

Dutt traces how colonial British forces exploited and perpetuated a centuries old caste system, how Gandhi could have been more forceful in combatting prejudice, and the role played by Dr. B. R. Ambedkar, whom Isabel Wilkerson called “the MLK of India’s caste issues” in her book Caste. Alongside her analysis, Dutt interweaves personal stories of learning to speak without a regional accent growing up and desperately using medicinal packs to try to lighten her skin.

Published in India in 2019 to acclaim, this expanded edition includes two new chapters covering how the caste system traveled to the US, its history here, and the continuation of bias by South Asian communities in professional sectors. Amid growing conversations about caste discrimination prompting US institutions including Harvard University, Brandeis University, the University of California system, and the NAACP to add caste as a protected category to their policies, Dutt’s work sheds essential light on the significant influence caste-ism has across many aspects of US society.

Raw and affecting, Coming Out as Dalit brings a new audience of readers into a crucial conversation about embracing Dalit identity, offering a way to change the way people think about caste in their own communities and beyond.

Table of Contents

Author’s Note to New Edition
Author’s Note


PROLOGUE

CHAPTER 1
The Early Years

CHAPTER 2
The Caste System: How It Began

CHAPTER 3
Education and Financial Strife

CHAPTER 4
Humiliation in Mussoorie

CHAPTER 5
The Reality of Untouchability

CHAPTER 6
The Long Road to St. Stephen’s

CHAPTER 7
The Argument for Reservation

CHAPTER 8
Culture Cache and Onward to Columbia

CHAPTER 9
Dalit Movements and Ambedkar’s Legacy

CHAPTER 10
My Introduction to Ambedkar

CHAPTER 11
Dalit Women’s Movements

CHAPTER 12
The Danger of the Single Narrative

Chapters for Expanded Edition
CHAPTER 13
Silicon Valley, Model Minority, and the Myth of Caste-lessness

CHAPTER 14
The Reckoning of Caste in Tech

Epilogue
Acknowledgments
Notes
Index

Author

Yashica Dutt is a journalist, activist, award-winning writer, and a leading feminist voice on caste. Born "in a formerly untouchable 'lower' caste family," she passed as dominant caste to survive discrimination. Dutt moved to New Delhi at 17 and became one of the most widely-read culture journalists at a leading English language paper. Eventually coming out as Dalit, she introduced this expression which powerfully resonated in India. Her site, Documents of Dalit Discrimination, was among the first highly visible media spaces for caste oppressed people. Dutt's work has been published in the New York Times, Foreign Policy and The Atlantic, and she has been featured on The BBC, The Guardian and PBS Newshour. Yashica Dutt lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Books for Women’s History Month

In honor of Women’s History Month in March, we are sharing books by women who have shaped history and have fought for their communities. Our list includes books about women who fought for racial justice, abortion rights, disability justice, equality in the workplace, and more, with insight on their remarkable lives that inspired others to

Read more