author portrait
© Hillery Stone

Sharon Olds

SHARON OLDS was born in San Francisco and educated at Stanford University and Columbia University. She is the recipient of the Frost Medal for lifetime achievement, as well as the winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the UK’s T. S. Eliot Prize for her 2012 collection, Stag’s Leap. She is the author of twelve previous books of poetry and the recipient of many other awards and honors, including the inaugural San Francisco Poetry Center Award for her first book, Satan Says (1980), and the National Book Critics Circle Award for her second, The Dead and the Living, which was also the Lamont Poetry Selection for 1983. Olds teaches in the Graduate Creative Writing Program at New York University and helped found the NYU outreach programs, among them the writing workshop for residents of the former S. S. Goldwater Memorial Hospital on Roosevelt Island, and for the veterans of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars. She lives in New York City.


Celebrating National Poetry Month

April is National Poetry Month and Penguin Random House Education is celebrating poets and the poems they craft. This list includes works of poetry from American and World poets that depict history, reflect personal experience, discuss topics of race and culture, feminism, LGBTQIA+ lives, immigration, family, and more, and ranges from Shakespeare to the 20th

Read more