author portrait
© Charles Moriarty

Mark Haddon

Mark Haddon is the author of the bestselling novels The Red House and A Spot of Bother. His novel The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time won the Whitbread Book of the Year Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for First Fiction and is the basis for the Tony Award–winning play. He is the author of a collection of poetry, The Talking Horse and the Sad Girl and the Village Under the Sea, has written and illustrated numerous children’s books, and has won awards for both his radio dramas and his television screenplays. He teaches creative writing for the Arvon Foundation and lives in Oxford, England.


Books for Asian American and Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander Heritage Month

Every May we celebrate the rich history and culture of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. Browse a curated selection of fiction and nonfiction books by AANHPI creators that we think your students will love. Find our full collection of titles for Higher Education here.

Read more

Books for Autism Acceptance Month

For Autism Acceptance Month, we are sharing books that give the history of understanding autism and the personal stories of those who are autistic.   Fall Down 7 Times Get Up 8: A Young Man’s Voice from the Silence of Autism In short, powerful chapters, Naoki Higashida explores school memories, family relationships, the exhilaration of

Read more