The Secret Fawn

Illustrated by Elly MacKay
Ebook
On sale Feb 02, 2021 | 40 Pages | 978-0-7352-6517-2
Gorgeous cut-paper art illuminates this sweet, heartfelt picture book about how special being little can be. For fans of Finding Wild and Little Fox in the Forest.

A little girl is always missing out on the wonderful things her family gets to see and do, just because she is the youngest and smallest. She misses seeing shooting stars because she goes to bed too early; she can't pick the first apple of autumn because she's too short; and, this morning, everyone else got to see a deer . . . except her. She goes into her backyard in search of the deer, a sugar cube tucked in her pocket. She sees a flick of brown in the orchard -- is that the deer? No, it's just the neighbor's friendly dog (Shhhhh, Nala!). Is that it by the pond? No, that's just a bird, playing in the water. Just when she's about to give up, she spots a fawn, beautiful, quiet and small . . . just like her.

The Secret Fawn beautifully captures the power of nature to inspire children and shows how connecting with animals can help kids who feel left out or overlooked.
  • NOMINEE | 2023
    Chocolate Lily Award
KALLIE GEORGE is an author, editor and creative writing teacher. She has written numerous books for early readers, including the first five books in the Anne chapter book series (Anne Arrives, Anne's Kindred Spirits, Anne's School Days, Anne's Tragical Tea Party and Anne Dares), The Magical Animal Adoption Agency series, The Heartwood Hotel series and The Wings of Olympus series, as well as numerous picture books, such as Goodnight, Anne, If I Couldn't Be Anne, Merry Christmas, Anne, The Secret Fawn, I am a Meadow Mermaid and The Lost Gift. Kallie currently lives in Vancouver, BC. View titles by Kallie George
ELLY MACKAY is an acclaimed paper artist and award-winning children’s book maker. She is the author and illustrator of a number of picture books, including In the Clouds and Red Sky at Night, and has illustrated, among others, The Enchanted Symphony by Julie Andrews and Emma Walton Hamilton and I Am a Meadow Mermaid and The Secret Fawn by Kallie George. Before pursuing a career in picture books, she taught in schools and was an educator in galleries. Elly lives in the winter kingdom of Owen Sound, Ontario, where she and her family often search for snow dragons in the gardens and fields nearby. View titles by Elly MacKay

About

Gorgeous cut-paper art illuminates this sweet, heartfelt picture book about how special being little can be. For fans of Finding Wild and Little Fox in the Forest.

A little girl is always missing out on the wonderful things her family gets to see and do, just because she is the youngest and smallest. She misses seeing shooting stars because she goes to bed too early; she can't pick the first apple of autumn because she's too short; and, this morning, everyone else got to see a deer . . . except her. She goes into her backyard in search of the deer, a sugar cube tucked in her pocket. She sees a flick of brown in the orchard -- is that the deer? No, it's just the neighbor's friendly dog (Shhhhh, Nala!). Is that it by the pond? No, that's just a bird, playing in the water. Just when she's about to give up, she spots a fawn, beautiful, quiet and small . . . just like her.

The Secret Fawn beautifully captures the power of nature to inspire children and shows how connecting with animals can help kids who feel left out or overlooked.

Awards

  • NOMINEE | 2023
    Chocolate Lily Award

Author

KALLIE GEORGE is an author, editor and creative writing teacher. She has written numerous books for early readers, including the first five books in the Anne chapter book series (Anne Arrives, Anne's Kindred Spirits, Anne's School Days, Anne's Tragical Tea Party and Anne Dares), The Magical Animal Adoption Agency series, The Heartwood Hotel series and The Wings of Olympus series, as well as numerous picture books, such as Goodnight, Anne, If I Couldn't Be Anne, Merry Christmas, Anne, The Secret Fawn, I am a Meadow Mermaid and The Lost Gift. Kallie currently lives in Vancouver, BC. View titles by Kallie George
ELLY MACKAY is an acclaimed paper artist and award-winning children’s book maker. She is the author and illustrator of a number of picture books, including In the Clouds and Red Sky at Night, and has illustrated, among others, The Enchanted Symphony by Julie Andrews and Emma Walton Hamilton and I Am a Meadow Mermaid and The Secret Fawn by Kallie George. Before pursuing a career in picture books, she taught in schools and was an educator in galleries. Elly lives in the winter kingdom of Owen Sound, Ontario, where she and her family often search for snow dragons in the gardens and fields nearby. View titles by Elly MacKay